Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

Gather Ye Wildflowers While Ye May

Robert Herrick 1591-1674-Gather Ye Rosebuds while ye may, Old Time is still a-flying; And this same flower that smiles today Tomorrow will be dying. The glorious lamp of heaven, the sun, The higher he’s a-getting, The sooner will his race be run, And nearer he’s to setting.

Oh my, I could not have put it any better. Yesterday as I wandered about my surroundings capturing just a few last shots of the flower blooms before they turn to seed, this quote swirled through my mind. I am not ready to relinquish summer just yet! I can see that many are already embracing Fall. I am not there yet.

Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

Living in the North it takes many of our flowers much longer to bloom.

Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

And there life span is way too short.

gather ye rosebuds while ye may

gather ye rosebuds while ye may

gather ye rosebuds while ye may

gather ye rosebuds while ye may

Tell me, are you yearning for Fall already? Or are you, like me, hoping Summer will not give in so soon to Fall’s clutches?

To see one way that I like to display my roses view here.

23 thoughts on “Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

  1. Your flowers are beautiful, Kimberly! I am not ready for fall yet either, but we could sure use some rain! Some of my flowers have fallen victim to the drought. I’m afraid we will lose some more if we don’t get some rain soon.

    Like

  2. I’m clutching onto to summer for as long as possible. It’s always much too short. We’ve had rather a cool summer here on the west coast – it was much warmer on our trip. But the garden is still pretty and the roses keep on blooming! Your pink rose in the top photo is really gorgeous. My favorite pink color.

    Like

    1. Our summer here was gorgeous all around this year, Lorrie, which is why I hate to have it over too soon. It was 9C here this morning already!

      Like

  3. HI Kimberly. No, I’m not one bit ready to relinquish summer for fall yet. I’m seeing way too many fall things everywhere and it is just too early for me. I love summer and heat and summer flowers etc. Your flowers are beautiful and I really hope you get to enjoy them a lot longer. Take care my friend and enjoy summer while it lasts.

    Like

  4. I am in northern New England so things get a slow start here. I have seen the change in light and the shorter days. I love summer but this one is way to hot and way to dry I am looking forward to dry crisp fall days but not the winter that follows.
    Cathy

    Like

    1. We don’t get hot summers here, Cathy. I do sympathize with people who do.
      You do also get the most gorgeous Falls there in New England. Maybe that will help make up for your hot summer!

      Like

  5. Our summers are warm in the Yukon but come to a sudden end with frost nights and warm days bringing wonderful colours of gold like syrup running down over the mountains with splotches of orange and red here and there. But my oh my the gardens that can be grown with so much sunlight during our summer days!
    Cheery-O, TDJL

    Like

  6. Now that we’re going through our second long heat wave of summer, I’m yearning for fall but I’d really like summer to last a bit longer than it does. School will be starting before I know it!

    Like

  7. I’m trying not to think about fall at all, Kimberly. Not because I don’t love it but simply because I have an idea that fall is very late coming here in FL and don’t want to get my hopes up. I’ve been told that the nights get cooler here in September–and also that this was the hottest summer in 20 years.

    I’ll be looking for all the autumn pictures of my blog friends who live to the north!

    Like

  8. Hi Kimberly: I love fall. Here in PA it has been warm in November. Warmer than it should be. Most of my flowers are gone, and I say most because I still have roses that aren’t giving up. Just when I think they are done, there are more buds. I clip them off and bring them inside thinking that’s the last and I look out a couple days later and there are more roses. We are lucky enough to be able to go to FL for the winter so we get plenty of warm summer like weather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

