Chalk Painting a Milk Jug

CHALK PAINTING A MILK JUG

I have had an old Kalamazoo milk jug hiding in my cabinet for years that needed a face lift. Finally I came up with the idea of chalk painting a milk jug! I have seen so many Mason jars painted that look so nice in a farmhouse kitchen so I knew I couldn’t go wrong trying this application on my milk jug. 

chalk painting a milk jug

The first thing I did was tape the top of the milk jug with green painting tape.  You will want something that sticks well and will result in a very sharp line, not allowing any leakage of the paint. Using painting tape will make it easy to remove after you are finished too.

chalk painting a milk jug

The next step is to chalk paint the entire surface of the milk jug from the tape mark down. Notice how nicely the lettering is showing through now that it has been painted? It was hardly visible when the glass was clear. If you don’t have a chalk paint recipe here is Plaster of Paris recipe that I prefer to use:

chalk painting a milk jug

chalk painting a milk jug

After the chalk paint dried I went back carefully with my fingernail and scraped the paint off of all of the lettering. Probably a fine sand paper might do the job just as well but I was afraid that I would end up sanding off areas besides the lettering and then have to go back and repaint again! This just seemed like a more accurate way to do it to me.

chalk painting a jug

There you have it, a new flower vase for your farmhouse kitchen! I can see myself using this vase for all seasons of  decorating. I think it will even look nice on it’s own (flower free) added to a farmhouse vignette. How would you use it in your home?

Blessings-Kimberly

Partying here:

Party In Your PJs, The Creative Circle, Waste Not Wednesday, Vintage Charm, Simple and Sweet Fridays, No Rules Weekend Blog Party, Home Sweet Home, Shabbilicious Friday, Craft Frenzy Friday, What To Do Weekends, DIY Salvaged Junk Projects, Saturday Sparks Link Party, Share One More Time, Simple Saturdays Blog Link

32 thoughts on “Chalk Painting a Milk Jug

  1. Great job! I have a bunch of these bottles and Mason jars in my cabin. When you say “latex paint” I assume it would be indoor latex in the color you wish the base to be (off-white in your case?) Thanks much! Jeff

    Like

      1. I am guessing due to the “oldness” of the bottles (does any milk get delivered in bottles anymore?) that an off-white color (as opposed to yellow or blue) likely works best….I will have to try this!

        Like

  2. cute project! I like the way the lettering shows up after scraping. Your bouquet is pretty!
    I would use the same as you– and mine would probably hold some weeds brought in by dirty little hands!
    have a great weekend-
    Pat

    Like

  3. Where in dickens could a person find an old milk bottle? Maybe guy with several in his cabin would be interested in selling some. Have great weekend, loved this bottle

    Like

    1. Flea markets — indoors or out….there are lots of them floating around out there…I some clear ones and one brown one — all 1 qt size….
      .

      Like

    1. I checked it out Carla and this G doesn’t have the usual line across the middle that most do.
      Thanks for pointing this out though!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Vintage Charm #45

Leave a Reply

