Canning Pimentos

canning pimentos

I love canning. And in the last year my husband and I have canned stuff I’ve never even thought of canning before. We’ve canned bacon. We’ve canned butter. And now I’m canning pimentos!

I know these aren’t the usual food items that people most commonly can, but when I find a  good deal at the grocery store I figure that this is the time to stock up.

canning pimentos

When passing the produce discount rack I spotted these three red peppers. They were a wee bit wrinkled, but they weren’t spotted at all. Then I remembered that I was out of pimentos at home.

I like to use pimentos in some of my summer salads. At one time they were available in small jars that was the perfect amount for what I needed. Lately though all I can find are the larger jar which I don’t like. I use half of it then it sits in the frig and by the time I get around to using it again I worry that it’s been in there for too long. So I end up throwing it out.

canning pimentos

By canning pimentos at home I can use the smallest jam jars and get just the right amount that I want.  

It’s so easy. I washed the red peppers, cored and diced them. Next I filled my hot baby jam jars with the diced peppers and a little salt. Then the hot lids and jar rims were attached and tightened down. Lastly they were placed in the pressure canner, which was set at 10# pressure, and canned for 30 minutes. Like I said-so simple!

canning pimentos

I have included this recipe for easy pinning if you would like to try canning pimentos yourself.

Now for what’s happening around here. I’m going to Thunder Bay for a couple of days soon. Hey, this is the big city for me girls! I’m so excited to be able to visit Value Village and The Salvation Army Thrift Store there. I feel sure that I’ll find some sort of treasure to bring home with me. Mostly it’s just nice to get out of Dodge!

I hope your weekend is a good one, my friends.

Blessings-Kimberly

Partying here:

Home Sweet Home, Dare To Share, The Homesteader Hop, The Art Of Homemaking Monday,

19 thoughts on “Canning Pimentos

  1. I never thought about canning pimentos. That’s a great idea to use the smallest size jar. I’ve never done any canning except for peaches in high school home economics class! My mom used to can tomato juice and sometimes she made pickles.

    Like

  2. Canning pimentos sounds like a brilliant idea! I canned onion jam last year and would like to do so again as it’s so delicious! Hope you’re having a great time in the big city.

    Like

  3. This reminds me of my mom’s homemade pimento cheese…OMG I loved that stuff! I haven’t had any in years and years. I may have to make a special trip to the store now. LOL!

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh…..color me stupid but I did not realize that pimentos came from red peppers! Shows how much cooking I do, or better yet how much canning I have done! LOL….Thanks so much for teaching me something today! Also, thank you so very much for coming by the blog and leaving a message.

    Like

  5. Good morning! This is just a little note to let you know we have *FEATURED* this post today on the ART OF HOME-MAKING MONDAYS at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth. Thank you for joining us! We hope to have you again this week and have a lovely week! 🙂

    Like

  6. Hi, I’m new to your blog. Canning pimentos caught my eye though.
    I am wondering what kind of peppers did you use? Just the regular sweet ones in the grocery store or were they hot red peppers?
    Thanks in advance.

    Like

    1. Thank you for dropping by, Laurie! I used sweet red bell peppers for my pimentos.
      I do know that they can be made with the cherry chilli peppers too, but they are not hot either.

      Like

Leave a Reply

