Rustic Christmas Porch Sign

rustic christmas sign

I told you all yesterday how excited I was for this Christmas season. If you missed that post, check here. My mind has been overflowing with all sorts of holiday crafts and décor ideas. I’m certain it’s not just me, in reading your post I can see that the holiday craft bug has bitten most of us by now. For myself, I realized that the time had come to stop dreaming and thinking about what I want to do and get off my fanny to actually do something!

I convinced my husband to help me out-quick! Together we worked to make a rustic Christmas porch sign. I picked the wood I wanted used, did all the measuring eyeballing, and Tim did the simple cutting and nailing. The most time consuming part of this project is the lettering. I almost always choose my font from picmonkey. They offer a wide verity of fonts and it’s also an easy site to navigate. I know that many crafters like to print their fonts but I simply copy them from my laptop. Beware though that you do not press hard on your laptop screen. I learned this the hard way ladies!

blog-new

If you are wondering why I’m in such at big hurry to get a rustic Christmas porch sign made, it’s because my blogging buddy Jann at Have A Daily Cup of Mrs. Olsen has invited me to participate in a Creating Christmas link party. So reserve that date! I do realize that it is over two weeks away and there is plenty of time. But in two weeks it could be way to cold for me to want to go out and work on any projects in our unheated garage.

The theme for my porch will be rustic, of course. Maybe you remember my porch décor from Christmas’s past. In 2011 my theme was “Let It Snow”. If you would like you can revisit it here. Then in 2012 I was all about making good use of my plaid thermos’s. Take a peek if you’d like to view it here as well. I think that it’s fun to go back to see what you created in years past. Especially in my case, I could end up making the same thing over again!

I’m off to experiment with a Vanilla Chai Tea Latte recipe I’ve found on Pinterest. I am converting it to dairy and sugar free. If it’s any good I’ll be back to share it with you soon.

21 thoughts on “Rustic Christmas Porch Sign

  1. Well that is great and spreads the news of just Who He is! I am glad that I can count on your being back if the beverage turns out and for the holiday party. Wish that it were sooner, I need ideas!

    Like

  2. The sign is fabulous. I cannot wait to see you in Jann’s home tour. I have done it for a few years and it is always fun. This year I did not get in with having so much going on with me personally. I know you will love it and I will love seeing all your pretty decor. Good luck and glad to see you getting your decor crazy going.
    Hugs,
    Kris

    Like

  3. What a cute sign, Kimberly! It is really cute and I am glad you are going to be on the home tour. That should be fun. I just don’t have the time to join any of these things this year…but I love visiting them. Hope you have a great rest of the week. xo Diana

    Like

    1. Thanks, Diana. I had a ton of plans for projects, but I’m quickly having to rearrange my priorities with the grandchildren coming now.
      I don’t want to be stressed out by the time they arrive after all!

      Like

  4. We have a similar Christmas sign that was made for us a few years ago by some very special friends. Thanks for showing this because I completely forgot to bring it down from the attic.

    I’m so excited that you are joining Creating Christmas this year.

    Like

  5. Hi Kim. I love your tree sign which shares the true meaning of the season. I’ll be watching for the link party to visit. They are always so fun with so many great ideas for decorating. Have a great weekend. Pam

    Like

    1. Sorry I’m so late in getting back! For some reason my comments aren’t always showing in my e-mail box.
      Fortunately I am doing porches and I don’t have to do the whole house tour thing! Now that it’s just Tim and I
      I don’t go all out with the Christmas décor.

      Like

  6. LOVE simple signs.. this is a great one and done very well.. I am delighted to be reading your blog once again..Love seeing what my friends are doing in decorating for Christmas.. Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

